Forgiveness from the Heart

A Debt of Mercy

In this past Sunday’s Gospel from the TLM, we hear the parable of the unforgiving servant.

It’s a story that might stir something deep within us, especially as we reflect on the times we’ve been forgiven and yet held onto grudges ourselves.

Jesus reminds us that just as God’s mercy toward us is boundless, we are called to extend that same mercy to others.

But how often do we fall into the trap of expecting mercy but being slow to offer it?

We all carry our own "debts," whether they are mistakes, weaknesses, or the hurt we've caused others.

God sees all of these, and still, He meets us with mercy and compassion.

But the challenge comes when we’re asked to reflect that same forgiveness toward those who have wronged us.

It's easy to be the first servant, pleading for mercy when we are in need, yet finding it difficult to forgive even minor offenses when we are wronged.

This parable teaches us that forgiveness isn't just a one-time action—it’s a way of life, a habit of the heart.

We may feel justified in our anger, but Jesus urges us to release it.

Holding onto grudges only tightens the chains around our own hearts, making us prisoners of resentment.

True freedom comes from letting go and forgiving "from the heart."

Reflection Questions:

1. Is there someone in your life you struggle to forgive?

2. How can you reflect on God's mercy in your own life and allow it to inspire you to forgive others?

3. What small steps can you take this week to practice forgiveness, even in situations that feel unjust?

I can start!

When seeing a person this week, my first reaction is to think how could she treat me like she is.

But then remembering the gospel reading, I realized I need to forgive her, I don’t know what her personal thought process it, just like she doesn’t know mine and maybe it is all just a big mistake on both sides.

My feelings might not be there, but my thoughts and prayers can be where God wants them, and He can work on my feelings.

So, I offered up Hail Mary’s till I was able to move on, about 5 of them.

God used my willingness to move past my feelings to help with the situation, and baby steps were taken, and I can continue to pray things will at least ease from this.

Challenge for the Week:

Pray the Our Father each day this week, paying special attention to the words “forgive us our trespasses, as we forgive those who trespass against us.” Ask God for the grace to forgive from the heart and to let go of any grudges you might be holding onto. Add some Hail Mary’s for each person that comes to mind.

In Christ,

Melissa

At that time, Jesus spoke to His disciples this parable: The kingdom of heaven is likened to a king, who would take an account of his servants. And when he had begun to take the account, one was brought to him that owed him ten thousand talents: and as he had not wherewith to pay it, his lord commanded that he should be sold, and his wife and children, and all that he had, and payment be made. But that servant falling down, besought him saying: Have patience with me, and I will pay thee all. And the lord of that servant, being moved with pity, let him go and forgave him the debt. But when that servant was gone out, he found one of his fellow servants that owed him a hundred pence: and laying hold of him, he throttled him, saying: Pay what thou owest. And his fellow-servant falling down besought him, saying: Have patience with me, and I will pay thee all. And he would not but went and cast him into prison till he paid the debt. Now his fellow servants, seeing what was done, were very much grieved; and they came and told their lord all that was done. Then his lord called him and saith to him: Thou wicked servant, I forgave thee all the debt, because thou besought me; should not thou have had compassion also on thy fellow servant, even as I had compassion on thee? And his lord being angry, delivered him to the torturers, until he paid all the debt. So also shall my heavenly Father do to you, if you forgive not every one his brother from your hearts.

Matthew 18: 23-35